Nowadays a lot more books are being turned into films. However, does that deem the film better than the book?

 

Rionaghac O’Mahony, a booktuber and film fan said: “I’m generally very anxious when I hear that a book I’ve read is being adapted, especially into a movie. There’s always a part of me that stops myself from being too upset when an adaptation is released.”

 

“There’s always a part of me that stops myself from being too upset when an adaptation is released. Books and movies are entirely different forms of media; they aren’t going to feel the same. And as the word ‘adaptation’ explains, they are not going to be the exact same thing.”
But what forms people’s opinions about the adaptation?

 

When people read a book, they imagine what the characters look like, sound like and act like, but if the character are slightly different to people’s expectations, the film is ruined.

 

Susana Calloway, 19, said: “I usually don’t mind movie adaptations. I know that they can’t copy the book as it is, so I have low hopes. However, what I can’t stand is when they don’t cast actors and actresses who are exactly the way I imagined. I know that is impossible, and that the actor/actress may be brilliant and play the role as perfect as it has to be, but if I don’t like him/her, I’m sure I’m not going to like the movie.

Screen Shot 2017-03-28 at 13.53.32

“On the other hand, I get really excited when one of my favourite books get a movie adaptation because it’s like ”yaaaaaayyy I read it! I know it!” and I don’t really care about the changes that producers make in the plot because I think that part is so important. If the film were exactly like the book, the readers won’t be surprised at all, so I like that very much, even though I know most people hate the changes.”

 

Adaptations are incredibly popular as there are so many out there and so many different genres. Some of the more popular adaptations include Great Expectations by Charles Dickens, Dracula by Bram Stoker, The Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling and The Lord of the Rings series by J.R.R Tolkien.

Rionaghac O’Mahony added: “I adore The Lord of the Rings movies but despite that I’ve never read the books, I KNOW that I wouldn’t enjoy them as much.”

 

 

 

 

