Evaluation

For the mock interview I chose to apply for the position of assistant editor at Penguin Random House.

Before the interview I had to look up different jobs that I would want to do, I mainly focused on publishing. Once I had chosen a job, I then went and looked at my CV and cover letter so that I could tailor it to the job.  I then researched the company the job was for and took notes about the company and which authors they work with. Doing this made me more prepared for the interview.

I think my CV and cover letter was well presented and showed my experiences well. However, I knew it wasn’t going to be amazing because I haven’t had much experience and I am not fully qualified.

From my experience of interviews, I think that I did well because I was prepared and, because it wasn’t my first interview, I knew what to expect and didn’t panic. I think presented myself well with the way I dressed and how I answered the questions with confidence.

I thought it went well but I could have been more prepared. I think I answered the questions well but it would have helped if I had brought a physical copy of my portfolio. However, because it was during college time and I was doing work, I didn’t have time to print off my work. If it was an interview for a real interview I would make sure I have a physical portfolio.

Throughout the interview the interviewer gave me pieces of feed back on my performance and how I answered questions. She said that I needed to bring a physical copy of my portfolio so that the interviewer would have more questions to ask. Also, I should have come prepared with more questions and to think of where the job is located so I would know how I would travel there and for accommodation. She also gave me feedback on my CV saying that I should put relevant work experience near the top of my CV as well as my blog, and to add all of the social media I use onto it.

From experiencing this interview I now know that I need to rethink the layout of my CV so that the information that is relevant would be at the top. I would also spend more time researching the company in depth. For future interviews I would print off a physical copy of my portfolio and research more into the company. I would also practice more interview questions to be more prepared.

Do’s

  • spend time researching into the job – what skills you need to have and what experience you need etc.
  • think of examples of impressive stories you have worked on as a journalist
  • come up with ideas including stories and angles for the company
  • make sure you ask questions
  • arrive on time and always turn up to the interview
  • have an idea of your expected salary
  • demonstrate that you have considered your career path
  • it is acceptable to pause and think of your response
  • take a notebook into the interview as a memory aid when giving examples
  • bring a portfolio of your work and in a suitable format

 

Dont’s

  • ask for feedback at the end of the interview
  • don’t ask too many questions

 

Look presentable – neat and professional

Be prepared – read over your CV or personal statement

Stay calm, be well rested and be hydrated

Sell yourself – only talk about your positives

Don’t talk too much

Use appropriate language

Don’t be cocky

Take care to answer the questions

Ask questions

Don’t appear desperate

http://www.monster.com/career-advice/article/boost-your-interview-iq

 

https://www.journalism.co.uk/skills/how-to-prepare-for-a-journalism-job-interview/s7/a547546/

 

Tell stories in the job interview

Share anecdotes that provide specific examples of how you’ve helped solve business problems. Describe the challenge, talk about your process and actions, and outline the final results.

Be yourself

The key to making a strong first impression is to simply show the real you. Try to avoid rehearsed responses and fluffy jargon. Instead interact in a way that’s honest and genuine.

https://www.roberthalf.com/creativegroup/blog/5-interview-tips-to-help-you-nail-your-creative-job-interview

 

 

 

