Why do you want to do the course/ subject that you are applying to do?

  • really interested in studying the subject further
  • like the sound of the modules
  • want a career in either journalism or publishing

 

Which skills/knowledge have you developed whilst on this course/outside of college?

  • time management
  • organisation
  • analytical
  • the ability to use indesign
  • journalistic writing – able to write for a specific audience
  • communication
  • teamwork
  • photography
  • leadership
  • independence

 

How do the skills and knowledge you have learnt link to the course/subject you are applying for?

  • journalistic writing – able to write for a specific audience
  • time management
  • organisation
  • analytical
  • communication
  • photography
  • independence
  • teamwork

 

How did you develop the skills/knowledge? Refer to specific experience you have had e.g. specific projects you have done/ specific tasks you have done/ work experience you have done etc.

  • journalistic writing – writing articles for my FMP year 1, writing featured for Migration Matters festival and Sheffield Sharks
  • time management – meeting article, projects and FMP deadlines
  • organisation – planning when to do photoshoots and when to write the articles in order to meet deadlines
  • analytical – analysing news stories
  • communication – when working in a team for focus groups and when presenting my findings to the class
  • photography – when working on my personal blog and taking photos for my FMP and other projects
  • independence – working by myself to complete my FMP by using minimal help and my own initiative
  • teamwork – working in teams during photography competitions, presentations and focus groups.

 

What are your personal qualities? How will these help you to be a valuable/ good student on the course/ subject you are applying for?

  • Witty
  • Kind
  • Helpful
  • Confidence
  • Approachable
  • Bookworm
  • Determined
  • Friendly
  • Charismatic
  • Reliable
  • Motivated

 

What evidence can you provide for the personal qualities that you say you have?

  • determined – when working towards my FMP grade, determined to get merit or above
  • bookworm – writing regular book reviews on my blog
  • helpful – when assisting my peers with their work, photoshoots, teaching my peers journalistic terms
  • charismatic – naturally good conversationalist, confident in what I am saying when presenting my ideas to the class

 

Draft 1

I have always been passionate about a career in journalism but that was never solidified until I started my UAL Extended Diploma in Journalism and Social Media. I am incredibly passionate about learning about the industry further and want to expand my knowledge further by studying it at university. As part of my extended diploma, I have had to research all of the different fields within the journalism industry. This task helped me decide on what I want to do in the future which is work in magazine journalism or for a publishing house.

A journalism degree like this really intrigues me as the modules are related to what I want to do for a career. The modules also feature certain aspects of journalism that I don’t want to do as a job, but I would enjoy learning about them. Also, I would like to study the subject further at university so I can develop my knowledge and understanding of the subject.

Studying my extended diploma has helped me to develop a lot of skills and learn some new ones too. For example I have developed my time management and organisational skills with having to meet deadlines for projects and having to organise photoshoots. I have also developed my analytical skill when analysing news stories and readership statistics, research skill when researching different media companies for case studies, communication when presenting my ideas and opinions to my peers, team work when working with others in presentations competitions and focus groups. As part of course I studied how to use special software, including InDesign and Photoshop, to use when creating my final major project. Studying this aspect of the course helped me develop my design skill and confidence with using new software. Moreover, I have developed my independence when working self-sufficiently to complete my final major project and my photography abilities when working on my personal blog and taking photos for final major project and other projects. As well as this I have been able to develop my researching capabilities as every task I was set during my course I had some sort of researching to complete. For example, for my final major project I had to research my target audience and carry out surveys and questionnaires to learn how to make my product appeal to the audience. Additionally, I have been able to develop my creativity skill as I needed to design a magazine cover and double page spreads as well as take the photos to accompany the articles for the pages.

Also, having my own personal blog has helped work on creativity as I have to create regular interesting content and take photos to accompany the blog post. This hobby has also helped me work on my communication skill when responding and interacting with my blog readers, my photography as I need to take several photos for the posts and my organisation as I need to work out when I can dedicate my time to my blog in order to create content. My blog has also helped me practise my professional writing.

Furthermore, I have learnt how to writing professionally as a journalist when writing articles for my final major project and writing features for the Sheffield Sharks basketball team and Migration Matters Festival 2016. Taking part in these two work experiences and writing articles for my final major has helped my learn how to write for a specific audience. Working towards my extended diploma has also helped me become more creative as I would have to think of innovative article ideas for my final major project.

I love the whole aspect of writing articles. From thinking of an innovative and creative idea, to writing the copy and taking the photos to then seeing the finished product. I also love being able to write what I want and then design how I want it to look like on the page.

In my opinion, I am a confident and motivated individual who is determined to achieve the best that I can.  I am a naturally good conversationalist and am confident in that I am saying when presenting my ideas to my peers and when engaging in conversation in class.  I am incredibly passionate about learning and put 100% effort into all tasks. I believe that I am incredibly dedicated to whatever task I am doing and am a dependable and responsible person.

Draft 2

In my opinion, I am a confident and motivated individual who is determined to achieve the best that I can.  I am a naturally good conversationalist and am confident in that I am saying when presenting my ideas to my peers and when engaging in conversation in class.  I am incredibly passionate about learning and put 100% effort into all tasks. I believe that I am incredibly dedicated to whatever task I am doing and am a dependable and responsible person.

I have always been passionate about a career in journalism but that was never solidified until I started my UAL Extended Diploma in Journalism and Social Media. I am incredibly passionate about learning more about the industry further and want to expand my knowledge further by studying in higher education. As part of my extended diploma, I have had to research the different fields within the journalism industry. This task helped me decide on what I want to do in the future which is work in magazine journalism or for a publishing house.

A journalism degree really intrigues me as it covers a lot of aspects of journalism, from news reporting to the law and ethics of the industry. However it still includes the side of journalism I am interested in and want to do as a career. This includes the digital side to journalism and publishing.

Studying my extended diploma has helped me to develop a lot of skills as well as learning new ones. For example I have developed my time management and organisational skills with having to meet deadlines for projects and organising photoshoots. Some of the skills I have developed throughout my time at college are; my analytical skill when analysing news stories and readership statistics, research skill when researching different media companies for case studies, communication when presenting my ideas and opinions to my peers, and  teamworking when working with others in presentations, competitions and focus groups. Moreover, I have developed my independence when working self-sufficiently to complete my final major project and my photography abilities when working on my personal blog and taking photos for final major project and assessments. As well as this I have been able to develop my investigation capabilities due to researching tasks set for every project throughout my course. For example, for my final major project I had to research my target audience and carry out surveys and questionnaires in order to learn how to make my product appeal to the audience. Additionally, I have been able to develop my creativity skill as I needed to design a magazine cover and double page spreads as well as take my own photos to accompany the articles for the pages.

Having my own personal blog has also helped work on creativity and practice my professional writing skills as I have to create interesting content regular for my readers. This hobby has also helped me work on my communication skill when responding and interacting with my blog readers. My photography has also improved through writing my blog as I often use multiple photos for every post. Organisation is another key skill that has advanced though my blog as I have to balance both my studies and hobby simultaneously.

Furthermore, I have learnt how to writing professionally through writing articles for my final major project as well as writing features for the Sheffield Sharks basketball team and Migration Matters Festival 2016. During the summer I also volunteered at my local library as part of their publicity team. During my time there I wrote an article which was featured on their website and distributed to the local area. Taking part in these experiences has helped my learn how to write for a specific audience.

I enjoy the whole aspect of writing articles. From thinking of an innovative and creative idea, to writing the copy and taking the photos to then seeing the finished product. I also love being able to write what I want and then design how I want it to look like on the page.

3978 Characters

 

Draft 3

In my opinion, I am a confident and motivated individual who is determined to achieve the best that I can.  I am a naturally good conversationalist and am confident in that I am saying when presenting my ideas to my peers and when engaging in conversation in class.  I am incredibly passionate about learning and put 100% effort into all tasks. I believe that I am incredibly dedicated to whatever task I am doing and am a dependable and responsible person.

I have always been passionate about a career in journalism but that was never solidified until I started my UAL Extended Diploma in Journalism and Social Media. I am incredibly passionate about learning more about the industry and want to expand my knowledge further by studying in higher education. As part of my extended diploma, I have had to research the different fields within the journalism industry. This task helped me decide on what I want to do in the future which is work in magazine journalism or for a publishing house.

A journalism degree really intrigues me as it covers a lot of aspects of journalism, from news reporting to the law and ethics of the industry. However it still includes the side of journalism I am interested in and want to do as a career. This includes the digital side to journalism and publishing.

Studying my extended diploma has helped me to develop a lot of skills as well as learning new ones. I have developed my time management and organisational skills with having to meet deadlines for projects and organising photoshoots. Some of the skills I have developed throughout my time at college are; my analytical skill when analysing news stories and readership statistics, research skill when researching different media companies for case studies, communication when presenting my ideas and opinions to my peers, and  teamwork when working with others in presentations and focus groups. Moreover, I have developed my independence when working self-sufficiently to complete my final major project and my photography abilities when working on my personal blog and taking photos for final major project and assessments. As well as this I have been able to develop my investigation capabilities due to researching tasks set for every project throughout my course. For example, for my final major project I had to research my target audience and carry out surveys and questionnaires in order to learn how to make my product appeal to the audience. Additionally, I have been able to develop my creativity skill as I needed to design a magazine cover and double page spreads as well as take my own photos to accompany the articles for the pages.

My own personal blog has also helped work on creativity and practice my professional writing skills as I have to create interesting content regular for my readers. This has also helped me work on my communication skill when responding and interacting with my blog readers. Organisation is another key skill that has advanced though my blog as I have to balance both my studies and hobby simultaneously.

Furthermore, I have learnt how to writing professionally through writing articles for my final major project as well as writing features for the Sheffield Sharks basketball team and Migration Matters Festival 2016. During the summer I also volunteered at my local library as part of their publicity team. During my time there I wrote an article which was featured on their website and distributed to the local area. Taking part in these experiences has helped my learn how to write for a specific audience. I am also completing work experience writing for the local newspaper, The Star, which will also help me improve these skills further.

I enjoy the whole aspect of writing articles. From thinking of an innovative and creative idea, to writing the copy and taking the photos to then seeing the finished product. I also love being able to write what I want and then design how I want it to look like on the page.

3591 characters

